SAFe for Teams | SAFe Training | SAFe Certification | Agility Whiz
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

5700 Tennyson Pkwy Plano TX 75024

Agility Whiz, 2019. All rights reserved

SAFe® for Teams

The SAFe Agile Team is a cross-functional group of people who have the responsibility to define, build, test, and where applicable deploy, some element of Solution value—all in a short Iteration time box

The attendees will use Agile practices of choice, based primarily on Scrum, Kanban, and Extreme Programming (XP). This will prepare them to apply Scrum with XP as the basic framework.

They will also learn how to apply Lean UX feature development and Built-In Quality practices to drive disciplined development and quality. These practices including collective ownership, pair work and continuous Integration will help them to explore how to keep things Lean by embedding quality and operating efficiency directly into the process.

Attending this course prepares individuals to take the SAFe 4 For Teams exam in order to receive the SAFe Practitioner (SP) certification.

Learning Goals

To perform the role of a SAFe® Practitioner, attendees should be able to:

  • Apply SAFe to scale Lean and Agile development in their enterprise

  • Know their team and its role on the Agile Release Train

  • Know all other teams on the train, their roles, and the dependencies between the teams

  • Plan Iterations

  • Execute Iterations and demonstrate value

  • Plan Program Increments

  • Integrate and work with other teams on the train

Topics Covered
  • Introducing the Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe)

  • Building an Agile Team

  • Planning the Iteration

  • Executing the Iteration

  • Executing the Program Increment

What Attendees Get

The class registration includes:

  • Attendee workbook

  • Preparation and eligibility to take the SAFe® 4 Practitioner (SP) exam

  • One-year membership to the SAFe Community Platform

  • Course certificate of completion.


Attendees must attend both days of the course in order to qualify for the exam.

Who Will Benefit?

The following individuals will benefit from this course:

  • Team members who apply Lean and Agile at scale

  • All members of an Agile Release Train preparing for launch


All are welcome to attend the course, regardless of experience. However, the following prerequisites are highly recommended for those who intend to take the SAFe® Practitioner (SP) certification exam:

  • Familiarity with Agile concepts and principles

  • Awareness of Scrum, Kanban, and XP

  • Working knowledge of software and hardware development processes

SAFe® Certification Kit

Attendees who pass the certification exam will receive:

  • SAFe Practitioner certificate

  • A SAFe 4 Practitioner digital badge to promote your accomplishment online

  • A one-year certified membership as a SAFe Practitioner, which includes access to the SP Community of Practice

  • A SAFe Practitioner certification usage guide with SP certification marks

  • Access to a variety of learning resources to support certified professionals during their SAFe journey

Annual Renewal

Certifications expire one year from the date the certification is earned.

  • Renewal fee is $100

Exam Details
  • Exam name – SAFe 4 Practitioner Exam

  • Exam format – Multiple choice,
    Multiple Select

  • Exam delivery – Web-based (single-browser), closed book, no outside assistance, timed

  • Exam access – Candidates can access the exam within the SAFe Community Platform upon completion of the SAFe 4 Practitioner course

  • Exam duration – Once the exam begins, candidates have 90 minutes (1.5 hours) to complete the exam

  • Number of questions – 45

  • Passing score – 35 out of 45 (77% passing score)

  • Language – English

  • Exam cost – First exam attempt is included as part of the course registration fee if the exam is taken within 30 days of course completion. Each retake attempt costs $50.

  • Retake policy – Second attempt on exam (first retake) can be done immediately after first attempt. Third attempt requires a 10-day wait. Fourth attempt requires a 30-day wait. Contact for any retake questions.

Professional Development Units (PDUs) and Scrum Education Units (SEUs)

Attendees may be eligible to apply for 15 PDUs toward their continuing education requirements with the Project Management Institute (PMI) for PMP, PgMP, and PMI-ACP certifications.

Attendees may be eligible to apply for SEUs under Category C, toward earning or renewing their CSP through Scrum Alliance.

Activity Number: SAFe4Teams

Duration: 2 days